Hi, I'm Mason

I'm a stubbornly optimistic software developer and startup founder with a whole lot of energy. I like to read books (non-fic and sci-fi), write about philosophy, dance to loud electronic music, rock climb, lift weights, bike, snowboard, hike, and do basically any other mountain sport or new thing that I can learn.

My passion is building software companies that do positive things for the world. Some of the tech companies I looked up to as a kid have let me down in this regard, but I'm still committed to making the world and our society better in any (small) way that I can.

From a philosophical standpoint I believe that both Buddhism (the secular variety) and Stoicism have things mostly right. By overlapping those philosophies and modern research I think you end up with a wonderfully coherent model of the human experience and how to live well in a universe that is enormous and chaotic.